Skip to main content


Iowa State University Digital Accessibility Policy Overview on the IT Portal


Development of New Digital Content

The Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI), one of the domains within the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), developed the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.1 (WCAG 2.1).  Level AA conformance provides the specific set of guidelines referenced at Iowa State University.

There are two major areas where these guidelines are relevant: development of new digital content and remediation of existing digital content.

The Digital Accessibility Leader seeks to promote and enable development workflows that integrate accessibility throughout the project lifecycle.

We recommend that content owners create a plan to integrate the Universal Design framework and methodology along with the WCAG 2.1 Level AA guidelines in the development of digital content.  Training is provided through the Digital Accessibility Coordinator and other units throughout campus.

Remediation of Existing Digital Content

Existing or legacy content must be remediated to comply with WCAG 2.1 Level AA or a process of accommodation must be made available to end users.

We recommend that campus units prepare plans to address digital accessibility guidelines.  Information, support, and training are provided by the Digital Accessibility Coordinator.

The recommended path to digital accessibility may include the following tasks:

  • Create an inventory of digital content (websites and others such as web and mobile apps, documents, forms, etc.)

  • Test for compliance.

  • Prioritize content by frequency of use, criticality, others.

  • Create a plan for remediation to comply with WCAG 2.1 Level AA.

  • Integrate Universal Design framework and methodology (including WCAG 2.1 AA guidelines) into new development.

  • Provide a mechanism for accommodation requests (i.e. email to content owner).  Student accommodations are provided by the Student Accessibility Services.

Learn more about WCAG Guidelines