What are Iowa State’s standards for accessible web content?

February 6, 2019

wcag 2.1 accessibility guidelines with icons

Image credit: From the W3.org blog


The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) are a set of recommendations developed by a global consortium of professionals to address accessibility of web content. These professionals are involved through the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C.) It’s quite a task to crawl through the WCAG recommendations and there are now two accepted versions. WCAG 2.0 has been the standard since its publication in December 2008, with the newest update (2.1) published in June 2018. 

Since the 2.1 version includes all of the success criteria from 2.0, it is feasible to just use the newer version. This is the version that I am advocating for adoption at Iowa State. The update includes 17 additional success criteria that address mobile accessibility, people with low vision and people with cognitive and learning disabilities. The previous version did not specifically address mobile, although the recommendations can certainly apply to mobile.   

WCAG is divided into three conformance levels (A, AA, and AAA). Iowa State has been adhering to the 2.0 success criteria at the AA level. With the new update, we will be asking for web content editors to add the additional 17 criteria where applicable to their digital materials for us to continue at the AA level. 

If you would like me to visit your department please contact me. I can offer guidance, workshops or sit down with individuals to discuss the criteria. I look forward to our work together!


Cyndi Wiley

205 Durham

Email: clwiley@iastate.edu

Phone: 4-8765


Resources for further learning:

News Type: